David Gitlitz

Argentina: A Victim of Foreign AIDS
Monday, January 7, 2002
David Gitlitz
Monetary deflation imported from the US Fed and disastrous fiscal follies imported from the IMF are what killed Argentina.
The 1990s Boom-and-Bust: Learning the Wrong Lessons
Monday, December 31, 2001
Donald L. Luskin and David Gitlitz
How can we hope to restore the prosperity of the 1990s when no one understands why it ended?
Following the Curve
Friday, December 21, 2001
David Gitlitz
The long bond still presents attractive value in a deflationary environment.
BOJ Watch: The Falling Yen
Monday, December 17, 2001
David Gitlitz
Speculation about a forthcoming anti-deflation policy initiative in Japan continues to mount.
One Wild Ride
Monday, December 10, 2001
David Gitlitz
The pounding of the bond market reflects expectations that the Fed will soon switch into a tightening mode. It's more likely that even after tomorrow's funds rate cut, the Fed won't be done.
On the Road to Recovery?
Tuesday, December 4, 2001
David Gitlitz
Some would have us believe recent data suggests that an early recovery is all but assured. It's not.
Japan: Opportunity in Chaos
Tuesday, November 27, 2001
David Gitlitz
A real anti-deflationary policy thrust might finally be in sight in Japan, giving rise to compelling investment opportunities.
Show Me The Money
Monday, November 19, 2001
David Gitlitz
Gold is back down to pre-September 11 levels, an indication of the risks to a market pricing for V-shaped recovery.
Productivity: Fact and Fancy
Thursday, November 8, 2001
David Gitlitz
Don't be fooled. Stronger-than-expected third quarter productivity was a statistical mirage created by the rapid reversal of the labor market.
BoJ on the Potomac?
Friday, November 2, 2001
David Gitlitz
It's not premature to ask: Is the Fed following in the disastrous footsteps of the Bank of Japan?